top of page

The year 3000 is only 980 years away..

Hey "Everyone"!!


With 2019, and this decade coming to an end I'm trying to sit back and reflect on what all has happened. It's strange looking back on the past 10 years of my life, because these past 10 years is really where it all began.

10 years ago I was what age? 13.... Ohhh Boy was that a phase mom. For those who didn't know me growing up here is as quick of a summary as you can get, while still getting the gist. I was a TomBoy up until my freshman year of high school (Whatever type of TomBoy you're thinking, times that by 17). From cargo zip-off shorts to Old Navy football jerseys; Just know I was never the last one picked in gym class (OKAY HARDOO). But, the 1% of girly girl shining through those cargo shorts was my love for young Justin Bieber & Troy Bolton.


So then came high school and I finally bit the bullet and tried applying mascara for the first time (thank god for Q-tips). But anyways, with high school came my "freedom" lol. I had a very unusual high school experience to say the least. I wasn't the best student or daughter, but what I was good at was making friends and basketball. If that's not too crazy for you here's where it gets interesting..


It was my senior year of high school where the story turns.. My senior year I was basically shipped off to a little town called Highwood, Montana to live with my aunt and uncle. Please notice how I said town instead of city. The town of Highwood had an outstanding population of 219 people, and over a million cows. If this still isn't doing it for you; Imagine your senior year of high school without cellphone service, wifi, or even a bedroom door. Sounds great right? I went from a graduating class of 400, to a graduating class of 4 (including me). GO Mountaineers!

But, Highwood was not all that bad. Okay it was

sooooo bad while I was there, but looking back and

reflecting it was such a different experience. Here's a

short story for you. My first week of living there I was

woken up to the sound of gun shots. So I peaked out

the 2 foot window under the stairs where my bedroom

was (the real life Harry Potter) and saw a pig hanging

from a tractor. My family was butchering their pigs

right outside.. I bet you can't guess what new comer had the honor to get in the back of a little red pickup truck and hold the pig guts in a trash bin, while we went to leave them for the coyotes? But, If it wasn't for Montana I'd probably be tattoo free, I wouldn't have ever tried pig wrestling (yes, I wrestled a pig on my 17th birthday at the Fort Benton state fair), wouldn't have found my true love for mountains, and I wouldn't have met some of the great friends that I still have to this day. (Also, I've branded cows before.. Just wrap your mind around that one)


Then there was college...


Some of the best years of my life and also some of the worst years of my life. I'm not going to even get into the bad experiences, so here are the good.


10 college memories I am thankful for:


PSA: Skip past this next part if you didn't go to St. Cloud State University or you're not one of my MySpace Top 5..


1. Meeting some of the best friends I could have ever asked for (you know who you are)

2. Meeting my wonderful boyfriend (Hi Tyler, if you're reading this)


3. Blade gang #IYKYK


4. Tap House & Hell House, sadly


5. Road trip to Colorado with Emily & Daveed


6. Hobo Days


7. Toppers


8. Mudfest

9. Nights out with the Girls... PRESSSSSSSS


10. ANDDDDDD THE MF 923!



Flip (scroll) the page to the next chapter:



The things that mean the most to me at this stage in my life are..


- My Family ( Mom, Dad, Stepdad, Taylor, JoJo, Kale & the

many pets I've had in-between)

- My Dog Astro RAWR XD

- My Boyfriend and his family

- My Friends

- Green Bay Packer / Milwaukee Bucks / and Christian Yelich

- Traveling

- My new home

- My new job

- The new city I live in, and I know Drake says, "No New

Friends" but the new friends I've made here

- Music/concerts


As this decade is coming to an end, I want to thank everyone I've met along the way, take in all the new places I've traveled to, and all the memories I've made (I also want to thank the Green Bay Packers for winning Super Bowl XLV). I look forward to all the new experiences that are coming my way this next decade. New decade, new me. Right?


If you're reading this..


Thank you for being apart of my journey thus far and I can't wait to see where this crazy life takes us!


So, sit back and relax. Crack open an ice cold brew, open that bottle of wine you've been eyeballing, or even take that tequila shot (Do not take that tequila shot, I repeat do not take that tequila shot) and celebrate all you've done over the past 10 years!


Cheers Honey,


Meeks

144 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page