top of page

A Needed GNO!

For those who know me, you know I thrive when I'm around my friends. But, since moving to Milwaukee 9 months ago I haven't been feeling whole. There are many things here in Milwaukee that I am happy to surround myself with, like living in a new house with my boyfriend and our puppy Astro; Ty's truly one of a kind family that I now consider my own, 10 minutes down the road; The friends that I have been able to make here (if you're reading this, Hi Darian & Brandi); My job at SHARP Literacy where I actually enjoy going into work every day; Being surrounded by all my favorite sports teams and breweries, but even with all those wonderful pieces of my life there is still one piece missing to my puzzle.

With living in a college town for the past 5 years, my friends and I were always fortunate enough to always be within walking distance from one another. I know, I know this is a part of growing up and everyone has to go through it, but oh boy do I wish that wasn't the case.

The last time I saw a majority of my best friends (The Band) it was back in August. I am lucky to have people

in my life that are willing to hop on a Grey Hound bus for 8 hours of their life and head to Milwaukee (this is true love man, I promise). My friends Deonna, Emily, Ivy, and you know this one personally... Meggie Salsie, were the victims of the Grey Hound. They endured this painful bus ride and safely made it to Milwaukee.. somehow.. We rented out an Airbnb that weekend

and I was ready to show them why I chose to live here.


To make a short weekend long.. I was able to show them around the city of Milwaukee. There isn't much here, but what is here is worth the visit. I think they were captivated by the surprising nature aspect of Milwaukee, like Bradford Beach and Lake Michigan. We made a few brewery stops along the way, but Lakefront brewery was the winner. I was able to show them the very strange night life here, and I think strange might be an understatement (We saw a pig at bar close and Megan was asked to Dj at Trinity).. They ended the weekend with having dinner at Ty's parent's house and they were able to see why I love them so much. All in all, this trip really helped my friends see why I made the decision to move here. I even think they would have chosen to move here if it meant they didn't have to get back on that Grey Hound bus!



6 months later and the weekend is finally here, I'm going back to Minneapolis!!!! I'M SOOOO EXCITED, If you can't tell by the excessive use of exclamation points or the all CAPS. There are no details as to what we are about to get ourselves into, but what I do know is that I'm about to feel whole again (even if it's just for a weekend).


This post is just a reminder to all, that you should be happy with what surrounds you. It can be anything from family, friends, job, a city in general, fashion, sports; But if you are not happy please make a change. I'm writing this to ensure you all that I am happy here, and just because a piece of my puzzle is missing does not mean I can't see the big picture. I'm lucky enough to have friends in my life that I can be 6 hours away and still feel just as close to them as we were in that little college town.


I'm coming for you girls <3


Cheers Honey


- Meeks



136 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page