top of page

Oh, the Places You'll Go!


Some people may say baseball is Americas favorite past-time, but I'd like to argue that traveling to new places might top that wonderful game (Sorry Christian Yelich I still love you). Traveling to new places gives me a sense of unknown, but also freedom. With traveling comes new foods, new beer, and also new memories. Here are a few of my favorite places I've been around the United States (the only place I've been outside of the U.S. is Niagara Falls and WOW that magical place could write it's own post).



5. Minneapolis, Minnesota


People reading this post most likely know more about Minneapolis than I do, but there is just something about this place. I've actually never lived in Minneapolis myself, but I do consider it my second home. Megan lives in a little suburb outside Minneapolis where I have spent a decent amount of time. Oddly enough Meg and I are two completely different people with the same sense of humor (Which is why I think we have remained such good friends). Well anyways, when I spend my time in Minneapolis it's usually with a cold brew (Surly, Omni, Fulton, Etc.) and some good company. A few of my favorite spots in Minneapolis are:


- Surly Brewery: This amazing brewery opened in 2005, but obviously I never tried alcohol till 2016 ;) This place not only has great beer, but also has good pizza and awesome bathrooms to take stall selfies with your buddies. While here I recommend trying Todd - The Axe Man; It's an American IPA with blasting flavor (7.2 ABV / 65 IBU). In the summer you can go outside and enjoy the giant patio. I totally recommend making a stop here if you have a love for beer and are down for a good time.


- Up-Down Arcade Bar: If you grew up playing pinball and Pac-Man this is the place for you, and for those who aren't about the retro games there is Mario Kart on the Nintendo 64 too (I always pick Mario! Who do you pick)? This place has over 50 arcade games and even better 60 beers on tap (what more could you ask for?). There is not much more I can say about this amazing place. This is a for sure stop!


- The Foshay: This place is a hidden gem! This prohibition bar gives you a 360-degree view of Minneapolis, located on the 27th floor. If you're looking for an awesome view I would recommend grabbing a martini or 3 (FYI drinks are about $20), but it's worth feeling like you're in an episode of Gossip Girl. After drinks, you can make your way up to the 30th floor and see the observation deck for a full view of the city.


- First Avenue: This music venue is a Minneapolis staple. This magical honey hole opened in 1970 and allowed many artist to spark their musical careers. Every person that has ever performed here gets to put their name up on one of the infamous stars (Foo Fighters, G-Eazy, Nirvana, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Prince, and mannyyyy more). This place was where I saw my first concert ever and it was Mod Sun, Hoodie Allen, and G-Eazy). This little venue holds a very special place in my heart.



There are so many amazing places around this city! If you're not from here I would recommend a summer visit to anyone (Emphasis on Summer). If you're ever in town make sure to hit up Meggie Salsie!


4. Seattle, Washington


This place has always had a special place in my heart because of all the family I have here. I have memories of swimming in my grandmas pool, getting a Bratz skateboard for my 9th birthday (while blaring Sk8ter Boi), and my favorite; Me feeding my grandmas horses and placing the carrot on the electrical fence and falling over cause I shocked myself so bad (Shocker right?!?) you see what I did there right ;) ? Anyways this past fall I had taken a trip with Meg to go see our friend Gabe from college. This trip was one for the books!



- The Crab Pot: I always liked seafood, but this was like no other. We ordered 2 of the jumbo platters and WOW, just WOW! This place is a busy restaurant and you'll most likely have to wait, but lucky for you there is a Merry-go-Round nearby.


- Public Market: What you see is what you get. We've all heard about the flying fish in the market, but you have to see it to realize the true talent these guys have. There are a ton of little shops along the market that are worth stopping at. Meg and I got cute necklaces for very cheap, there was a fruit stand where I tried fruit I've never even heard of before, and lots of artist selling their work. If you have the time make sure to stop by the little wine tasting spot across the street for an experience like no other. For just $10, Meg, Gabe and I were able to sample 4 different kinds of wine (our choice, so we chose the expensive bottles). With the wine tasting came food pairing and you would not believe the kinds of things we tried. These combinations went together better than Spongebob and Patrick.


- Kerry Park: Lots of people travel up the space needle to get a view of the rainy city, but we decided to check out Kerry Park and it didn't disappoint. As soon as we got to the top of this park the clouds cleared up and we had a beautiful view. If you want to avoid spending the $30 it cost to go up the needle, I would recommend this park (even though we still ventured up the needle as well).


- Breweries: Seattle is home of many unique breweries and I wish we could have gone to more, but we knocked out a pretty decent amount. Elysian Brewing is one of mine and Megan’s favorite breweries, because it brews the one and only Space Dust (Space Dust; is one of the stronger IPAs I've ever tried and it's filled with lots of hop at an 8.2 ABV). I would also recommend stopping by Seattle Beer Co, Pike Brewing, Cloudburst Brewing, and Pyramid Brewing Co!



The weather here was exactly like you see in the movies (RAINYYYY). It's almost so normalized that you kind of just become one with the rain. If you don't believe me the first day, I bought an umbrella and by the end of the trip I ended up not using/"loosing" it (Might have been from one too many IPAs, but like they say Cheers Honey). The people here are quiet and keep to themselves unless you find a drunk business man at an Irish pub on his lunch break (this guy will give you the best life advice, Thanks Jim). If you're lucky hop on the Titanic like ferry and ride that sucker out to Meigs Park (you won't be disappointed). As for night life all I can say is go to Cowgirls (Yehaw)....


3. New York City, New York


When I went to New York I was on an East Coast trip with my boyfriend’s family to see as many ballparks as we could. With the help from his parents (Annie and Steve) they drew up the most elaborate itinerary. We were in New York for less than 48 hours and we saw about everything possible in that period of time. I don't have as many must go to spots because I didn't fully indulge myself into the cities fast pace lifestyle. The first day we were there we went to Yankee Stadium and boy does that stadium have some crazy fans (It's no Miller Park though). The game we attended there was a rain delay in the first inning. The rain was coming down so hard, but luckily the itinerary was prepared for rain (Ponchos for the win). But the real fun started once we got to start doing all the touristy things the next day (keep in mind I took over 50,000 steps this day).


Places we were able to see in less than 24 hours:

- Time Square

- Central Park

- Grand Central Station

- Walked past some trash on the street

- Brooklyn Bridge

- John's Pizzeria (HOLY F that's some good pizza) one bite everyone knows the rules

- Ferry ride to Wall-street

- Staten Island Ferry to see the statue of liberty

- 9/11 Memorial

- Walked past more trash

- Penn Station



This city was very dirty and we saw the most interesting people, but I am very grateful for all the landmarks I was able to see in such a short time. If I ever go back to the city of New York I would love to fully submerge myself into the lifestyle. Take advantage of the nightlife and fast paced mentality that New Yorkers have. Also, next time I'm in this city I will be walking into Barstool HQ 3 and asking Dave Portnoy for a job. I'll see you soon Dave!


2. Boston, Massachusetts


I love this city! Not the sports teams, but I do love this city. There is so much rich history scattered along Boston. Just like New York, we were here for less than 48 hours. We managed to shove as much into this short visit! We started by going to Fenway Park! If this stadium alone didn't have enough history go out and check out the rest of the beautiful Boston. (And yes, I got a Boston Red Sox hat...)



- Freedom Trail: If you are interested in diving into the history we've all been learning about since middle school, you should 100% go on this walking tour. You make stops to Boston Common, Old Corner Bookstore (Now turned into the "oldest Chipotle"), Old State House, Boston Massacre Site, Faneuil Hall, Granary Burying Ground (Where Paul Revere, John Hancock, and Samuel Adams are buried) the only place you can drink a cold Sam Adams while looking at a cold Sam Adams. The history I've learned growing up really came to life through this walk!


- Trattoria Il Panino: This is the most authentic Italian food I have ever encountered. We started with a refreshing Sauv Blanc paired with a charcuterie board. After this light appetizer, dinner was served. I got the Gnocchi all Sorrentina (Homemade Potato dumplings, Mozzarella & Basil). Get this meal, I repeat get this meal! While you are leaving this 9.7/10 restaurant, I am telling you to stop on over to Mike's Pastry. Ask for Gino (Jk I was just stereotyping, sorry to anyone named Gino reading this).


I have nothing, but great things to say about this amazing city! The name of this blog somewhat came from the city of Boston. I visited the Cheers replica bar and it stuck with me! Everyone needs to visit this city at least once in their life (It's a part of your civic duty). Cheers!


1. Colorado


WHAT'S NOT TO LOVE ABOUT THE ROCKY MOUNTAINS? If you know me I love the outdoors. I love mountains, I love hiking, and I love an outdoor brew. I've only been to the state of Colorado twice, but it is everything I could ever ask for! I will write a blog on my trips to this magical place some other time, but I want you all to know that this place tops all. Like the previous places, I was able to check out Coors field on my 21st birthday (Thank you Ty), Tried my first (legal) drink at Rock Bottom Brewery, and hiked the most beautiful trails I have ever seen. Like they say " a picture is with a 1,000 words" ,so I'm going to let the pictures do the talking!



I will forever love the adventure of traveling to new places. I love the thrill of being unfamiliar with my surroundings. I love experiencing new food, new people, new cultures, and better yet new beer. If you have any future trip recommendations please let me know!


Love you "all"


Cheers Honey,


- Meeks

179 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page